ScholarsCollege banner withat

Opportunities for Study at LSC

The Scholars’ College Curriculum has two parts: the Common Curriculum and the Concentration or Traditional Major.
The Common Curriculum:
  • Texts and Traditions I-V
  • Critical Reading/Critical Writing
  • Freshman Orientation
  • Mathematics
  • Sciences
  • Science Seminar
  • Liberal Arts in Practice
  • Thesis Research Methods
  • Thesis Research
  • Senior Thesis
Liberal Arts Concentrations:
  • Fine & Performing Arts
  • Foreign Languages
  • Humanities & Social Thought
  • Philosophy, Politics, and the Law
  • Scientific Inquiry
  • Classics
  • Liberal Arts
  • Philosophy

Traditional Majors

In the Scholars' College, the traditional major is typically a joint major with another department such as business, mathematics and physical sciences, engineering technology, or computer science. Scholars' has a number of joint majors. To find out more, view the catalog found on the NSU Registar's website or talk with an advisor in Scholars'.

Planning Ahead for Courses

Students will find the Four-Year Course Rotation Schedule helpful in planning courses for future semesters.  This schedule shows classes that should be offered each semester, and it is divided into sections for core courses as well as concentration or major-specific courses.

Thesis Information

The Thesis Handbook provides information about and guidelines for the final project that all seniors complete as part of their Scholars' College education.
Council on Undergraduate Research